RSS

Getting back into the game

15 Nov

Thanks everyone for your support – those who stopped by and those who I spoke to in person, and the biggest thanks to TH, who is being an absolutely rock, as I decide to take this plunge. So the last few days, once I decided to put the GMAT behind, have been crazy. Absolute, non-stop, madness. While in the last few months of this journey, I had been gathering the ammunition for my essays, itching to start writing them, I truly did not appreciate how difficult it would be to sound half as convincing as I sound in my head, on paper.

In addition to the above, a part of the journey that you fellow comrades have already covered, I also have been busy putting together the material I should be sending my recommendation writers. I sent them their links this week, but am still giving final touches to the note and material that should help them start writing. I don’t believe they will be doing this any time before Thanksgiving, no thanks to the Q4 madness that hits our world at this time.

Here is my final shortlist for the application season. I did want to point out that all the schools below have been top 3 in my original list since I started this process. It was heartening to know, and very strongly so, that despite my GMAT setback, I still felt that among all the other schools I was considering, these schools will probably not reject me right away, as others might. If that isn’t a fit, I don’t know what is :D. It was almost close to realizing that your boyfriend/husband will not dump you because you gained 50 pounds in 4 months :P.

  1. Ross – This school is why I started this process and why I don’t want to give up. I strongly relate to their idea of leadership and through summer and fall I met their ambassadors, alumni, researched about their program and was quite impressed with everything I found. I write their essays next and am already turning quite Blue :p.
  2. Kenan-Flagler – You remember that guy, who started out as this funny, nice friend and as you got to know him, you couldn’t just help but fall in love? May be because this is how my love story began ;), and the eerie similarity with how my attachment to Kenan Flagler has grown, I can relate to this analogy. There was finally no turning back, when for their MBA Ambassador Event in Washington DC, they sent everyone a powerpoint with guidelines to structure resume, designed and used by the career services for current Tar Heels! I knew I was smitten.
  3. Kelley – I am not being dramatic when I say that during the Forte event, I welled up a bit during my conversation with Prof. Jonlee Andrews. She was talking about Talent, Humility and Tenacity – the three things that make a Kelley student and that message struck a chord. The reason I was at her desk because Kelley is known to be a feeder school for one of my dream companies but I came away more attached to the idea of business leaders they want to create.

I also wish I could apply to Tuck and Yale. Although am not sure about their reaction to low GMAT scores, but I do really like their programs. Among the things I considered while making the above selection, in addition to the program, cost of education etc., was the proximity to a well-connected airport. Why, you ask? I know I can’t go through this journey without TH very close by keeping me sane. However, given his consulting lifestyle, we just have Fri-Sun together and I cannot sacrifice that at the altar of an MBA. Having tested our relationship through a 7 year long international long distance dating, I honestly have no patience for it anymore.

And finally, I am still on the fence about Kellogg. One big question is if they would want someone like me instead of the usual Indian IIT Engineer (most Indians in Kellogg I know are from IIT). The plus on the other hand is, unlike all the above schools, they will definitely give me chance to make my case in person. I will be talking to a colleague who joined Kellogg this year soon, maybe he can help me decide.

For now, back to the drafts, notes, et al.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2013 in MBA

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Getting back into the game

  1. domotron

    November 15, 2013 at 10:47 am

    That looks like a really nice shortlist. Best of luck with the essay writing.

     
    • Ellie

      November 15, 2013 at 6:28 pm

      Thanks! How’s the prep for interviews coming along?

       
      • domotron

        November 15, 2013 at 6:51 pm

        Good (I think)! Done a fair bit, just hoping I don’t get nervous and it will be fine.

         
  2. sarahrs81

    November 24, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    If your a bit different Kellogg might be more interested. Will just need to bring out the benefits of your different profile.

     
    • Ellie

      November 26, 2013 at 1:57 am

      Sarah – yes! that’s what I am discovering as I look into it and in my conversation with current students. The other thing that is very high in my decision making matrix is – they interview you. With a low GMAT, I do need to make my case as many avenues as I can!

      P.S – Loved your analysis of the culture and how friendly the bschools were!

       
      • sarahrs81

        November 26, 2013 at 5:58 pm

        In terms of a low GMAT…I think we have lied to our selves. Anything over 600 is actually high in terms of all the people that sat it! Just that people make a big deal about being in the top 10% ie over 700.

        Only other suggestion is show off the fact that you’ve talked to students. I seriously don’t think every applicant will have done so. Taking time to talk, shows interest. And that’s what they are looking for.

         

Go on...say it :) I know you want to!

 
