RSS
Image

The road ahead…

18 Aug

So…the G-day came and went. It was every bit the downer I had hoped it would not be. My score sucks and am in serious doubts if I should continue on this road still. In parts, I am despondent that after being petrified of giving GMAT for years, I did give it and I failed. On the other hand, I am indignant about my score because I don’t think I am in the 60 percentile level! I may not be the sharpest tool out there but this score should at least reflect my true potential.

I am moving on now to plan a Labor Day weekend trip to Vegas. R1 is definitely out of my reach because if I do go back and tackle this beast of GMAT again, I want to give it more than 45 days. Thanks again to everyone coming by this blog and keeping me company as I tackle this…its been precious to have you around.

keep-calm-and-stay-awesome-395

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2013 in Future, Life, MBA

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “The road ahead…

  1. hamm0

    August 19, 2013 at 2:06 am

    Bummer! Lots of people take the test multiple times – heck, it took me 3 times to get an “OK” score. Keep your head up, you can do this!

     
    • Ellie

      August 19, 2013 at 2:54 am

      Thank you so much! It is easier to even think about it when I read experiences like yours. Otherwise I am so checked out right now.

       
  2. sarahrs81

    August 20, 2013 at 7:44 am

    Oh. Sorry to hear. If you got In the 600s your on the right track.
    Manhattan GMAT recommend that you plan on taking it twice. So it fairly normal to taken it twice.

    Enjoy your trip to Vegas

     
    • Ellie

      August 21, 2013 at 4:17 pm

      Thanks Sarah! Hoping the second time is the charm. And also, I think you also responded to re-take plan critique on GMATClub – small world! 🙂

       
  3. fromgmattomba

    August 20, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    Sorry to hear it wasn’t what you’d hoped for 😦 I know that feeling!!

    I think bit of time away from the GMAT and a trip to Vegas oughta help get you back on an even keel and ready to rumble for G-Day part dos. Definitely take a breather, clear your head, stay awesome, then come back and give the test what for!

    You can beat it!

     
    • Ellie

      August 21, 2013 at 4:18 pm

      Thank you so much for the support. I did take a deep breath and started on the re-test prep…will give it another more sincere shot this time.

       
  4. expectingmbamilf

    August 21, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    good luck on your next attempt !!!
    resilience is also what adcoms expect from bschool applicants, so don’t worry about having to take it one more time 🙂

     
    • Ellie

      August 21, 2013 at 4:21 pm

      Thank you so much for the kind words and stopping by! I just did a quick read of your blog and was really pleased to see someone else out there deciding on which schools to apply based on where their spouse can work. My husband is a consultant and on my radar are schools that have an airport close by so that he can hop off every Sunday night/Monday morning and get back Thursday while I can hopefully do this.

      But so much of the above planning is for after GMAT…back to the books 😦 hope to see you around!

       
  5. domotron

    August 21, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    Adcoms always say taking it more than once demonstrates that the applicant is serious about the whole b-school thing. Make sure you give yourself just a couple of days off free from GMAT, you will come back feeling refreshed and more motivated.

    Good luck!

     
    • Ellie

      August 23, 2013 at 12:52 am

      Thank you so much for the support! You guys are awesome!

       

Go on...say it :) I know you want to!

 
