RSS

4 Posts and 3 Themes later…

15 Aug
4 Posts and 3 Themes later…

I know, I know there has barely been anyone reading this and I seem to spending more time trying new themes on the blog rather than writing in it. But think of it as buying clothes for a party that you *may* have to go to! 😉 Work has been crazy for both Dodo and me. I am burning through the hours in office only to come back home and get back online. Dodo on the other hand is racking up Airmiles and Avis points by doing the Consultant thing.

A year ago, when we moved to DC the idea of him being away for 4 days a week scared me silly! Those were the times of utter loneliness, homesickness, and frankly of, totally lost as to why did I move all the way across the world if I couldn’t even stay in the same city with my husband. What I did not account for is my brain’s Pavlovian response to having a partner in front of me night and day – 24 X 7. Long story short, my brain rejected it! Five years of long distance relationship and selectively reaching out to each other seemed to have trained us to need much more space than 900 sq ft apartments and no friends or social circle to speak of, forced on us.

A year down the line and specifically since we moved to our new apartment, things have definitely changed. The idea of being by myself for half the week is quite welcome. Sure, I miss him but I know he’ll be here in two days, more eager to see me than ever :). Also with the move, we have also picked up on people we can hang out with,  without feeling the need to detox afterwards. So now the weekends too are fairly busy with dinners, travel, and general hanging out.

That it has been difficult to find people to hang out with will be the understatement of this century. And worse has been the realization that may be the golden years of making friends and being able to find more like-minded people are well past us. But that I believe is the standard story of every expatriate in every country. I envy those who walk into rooms and ease themselves into conversations ranging from the mundane as the weather to engaging as their own weddings with the locals. And while I have been able to make good friendships with a few people from office, I crave the informality of being able to talk of back home with other Desis about food, colleges, cities we love so much!

Cliched as it is, I guess, Phir bhi dil hai hindustani!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Go on...say it :) I know you want to!

 
